The Cathedral was built in the 16th century on the wishes of the local authorities supported by duke Teodósio. It is known that Pêro de la Faia and Fernão Pires were the master craftsman in charge. It was due to be a Convent for the Order of Saint (...)
The convent, with its church, sacristy, chapter room, dining hall, cloisters and bell tower, was purpose built to be headquarters of the Order of Avis back in the 12th century. The entranceway to the church is though a majestic marble door that has (...)
The construction of the former town hall spread over the reigns of D. Manuel I (who began the work) and D. João III.The whole building is made of austere granite and the ground floor forms a porchway of three pointed arches, corresponding on the (...)
Near the hamlet of Casais de Azoia stands an octagonal water tower, with a panel of blue and white azulejos (tiles) above the doorway, depicting Our Lady of the Cape.An aqueduct 2 km long brings water to the area at times of pilgrimage.
Amoreira AqueductDating from 1498, building of the Aqueduct was initially overseen by Francisco de Arruda, an architect who worked on the Tower of Belém in Lisbon. The works were subsequently continued by Afonso Álvares, Diogo Marques and Pero Vaz (...)
The aqueduct of ÉVora is a renaissance construction, measuring a total of 18 km. The most imposing part with square turrets and cupolas at intervals, lies between Sao Bento and the city. Designed by Francisco de Arruda in the sixteenth century. It (...)
The Aqueduto das Águas Livres is an important engineering work from the 18th century, built to supply water to the city of Lisbon and its surrounding areas.Its most impressive section is the one that crosses over the valley of Alcântara, but, all (...)
Aqueduct of São SebastiãoThe Aqueduct of São Sebastião in Coimbra is a reconstruction, produced during the reign of D. Sebastião, from 1570 onwards. It is also known as the "Arches of the Garden".In accordance with the project attributed to the (...)
Setubal aqueductBuilt on the orders of King John II, the aqueduct consists of two storeys of arcades. Dates from the sixteenth century.Also known as the Aqueduto da Estrada dos Arcos or the Aqueduto dos Arcos.
*Please wait*The password recovery instructions will be sent to your e-mail.*E-mail not sent. Try again.
Login using social networks