Casa São Roque Centro de Arte
Museums and Palaces
The history of Casa São Roque (formerly Casa Ramos Pinto) dates back to 1759, when it functioned as a mansion and hunting lodge, as was typical in the bourgeoisie and noble families in Porto. In the 19th century, it belonged to the Ramos Pinto family, one of the best known Port wine producers and exporters. Shortly thereafter, between 1900 and 1911, the architect José Marques da Silva carried out a remodeling and expansion of the house.
The building today maintains its original eclectic style, introduced with the remodeling of Marques da Silva, who was inspired by French historicisms of the 19th century and Belgian art nouveau, having recently been rehabilitated under the supervision of the architect João Mendes Ribeiro.
Casa São Roque is today a striking example of the houses of the time in Porto, for its architectural and decorative features where its winter garden is a unique example.
The House is surrounded by the Jardim do Parque de São Roque, with more than 4 hectares, which had the intervention of the historic gardener of Porto Jacinto de Matos. Its centuries-old camellias, lookout, cave and arbor remain as important signs of the gardens of the time.
Through a discreet presentation of her works that are part of the collection of Peter Meeker (Pedro Álvares Ribeiro), as well as site-specific interventions, Ana Jotta visits the old house that was abandoned for many years, now restored by new tenants and transformed in a new contemporary art center.
1:30 pm - 7:00 pm (from October to March);
1:30 pm - 8:00 pm (from April to September);
Closed: Tuesdays, December 25, January 1 and May 1
- Motor disability
- Mental disability